The BCA is a small and agile organisation with experts in multiple fields, from Legal to policy, membership management and communications.

The Bus and Coach Association Board

The Bus and Coach Association Board is elected by our members and is comprised of:

  • Chair – elected by members for a two-year term.
  • Five Councillors – elected by members for a two-year term.

Primary Responsibilities

The BCA Council’s primary responsibilities include:

  • Setting subscription rates payable by members
  • Overseeing the BCA’s annual budget
  • Overseeing the BCA’s annual work program and strategic priorities
  • Deciding policy direction on key issues that affect the BCA’s membership

BCA Board

Justin Allan


As Managing Director of Uzabus (Madge Coachlines), Justin’s career spans over 25 years, from a diesel mechanic to management of the family business.

Justin’s focus is on positive and workable outcomes for the entire Bus & Coach industry.

Ramash Swamy


Along with his wife Jo, Ramash owns and operates Wanaka Transport Group, trading under the name Yello! Cabs.

Ramash has over 20 years in the transport and tourism industry, and has a keen interest in encouraging greater participation in BCA activities from operators both large and small to ensure benefit to the entire industry.

Renee Snelgrove


Large Operator Representative

Renee is the Human Resource & Legal Director at Tranzit Group. She has a long history in the industry - having once been the youngest female coach driver in New Zealand.

Renee is looking forwards to representing operators in the multiple challenges facing the bus and coach industry, particularly in the area of employment law that will likely have further significant long-lasting impact on our industry.

Alister McDermott


Hailing from the deep south of Winton, Alister operated McDermott Coachlines; providing comprehensive coach charter services in Southland and the South and North Islands, until selling the business in 2021, moving to Christchurch and taking up a role as a regional manager for Ritchies Transport Holdings.

He has served as the BCA president for four years and is a Life Member of the BCA.

John Bayes


Small Operator Representative

John has grown up round buses and started at Bayes in 1993 as a diesel mechanic.

He fully understands the operation of what a fleet needs to be and how they should be run.

John is now in the Operational Management side of the business and is always looking for growth, development and areas to improve in.

Mr Grant Lilly


Independent Chairperson

The BCA would like to welcome Grant Lilly as the inaugural Independent Chair of the newly established Board.

Grant’s depth of experience in both the travel and tourism sector and as a professional director will be invaluable as the new Board transitions to a best practice governance model.

Branch & Committee Representatives

Branch Representatives

The Bus and Coach Association has three regional branches in New Zealand: Auckland, Central & South Island.

Branches meet on a regular basis to network and discuss industry topics related to your region. 

They then report back to Head Office who help advocate on their behalf.


President Sheryll Ottway (Howick and Eastern)
          / Robert Inwards (Life Member
Secretary Troy O’Dea (Howick and Eastern)


President – TBC
Secretary – TBC

South Island

President - Ginny Terry (Harkerss Buses)
Secretary - Karina Hughes (A Class Coaches)


Industry Committees

There are also four Committees that provide additional input on and oversight of key issue areas for our industry.

Members are encouraged to contact committee chairs on any matters affecting their areas of responsibilities.

School Advisory Committee

Responsible for Ministry of Education service tenders and contracts, changes to service delivery, and contract variations

  • Committee Chair: Callum Chapman [Weir Brothers] 
  • Members: Mike Bickley [Golden Bay Coachlines], Sheryll Otway [Howick and Eastern] & Alistair McDermott [Ritchies]

Tourism, Charter and Long-Distance Committee

Covers tourism and coach infrastructure, inter-regional drop-offs and pick-ups, the Star Grading system, and issues with specific touring routes such as the Milford Road and Homer Tunnel.

  • Committee Chair: Brent Early [BusTravel NZ] 
  • Members: Ramash Swamy [Yello] & Richard Bayes [Bayes Coachlines]


Urban and Public Transport Advisory Committee

Covers urban bus service procurement, contracting, and issues with service delivery. This includes tendering, contracts, negotiations, and benchmarking.

  • Committee Chair: Sheryll Otway [Howick & Eastern Buses]
  • Members: Michelle Clemence [Ritchies] & Renee Snelgrove [Tranzit]

Technical and Regulatory Advisory Committee

Covers issues such as the Vehicle Dimension and Mass Rule, vehicle compliance, and classification of vehicle faults.

  • Committee Chair: TBC

Life Members

Life members are chosen at our annual conference each year and reflect the positive contribution that that member has made to the bus and coach industry in New Zealand.

Current life members of the BCA are:

  • Daryl Narain
  • Don Richards
  • George Roberts
  • Garry Dallas
  • Murray Jenkinson
  • Terry Pidduck
  • Paul Asquith
  • Charles Robert (Robert) Inwards
  • Bryan Stembridge
  • Merv Reeves
  • Craig Worth
  • Paul Williams
  • Neil Dobson
  • Andrew Ritchie
  • Mike Hanning
  • Bill Nimon
  • Alistair McDermott

Our Partners

Key partners who work closely with our members on industry wide challenges and are integral to the continued smooth running of their bus and coach network in New Zealand.